SBUR is proud to provide awards to recognize SBUR members for their commitment to the profession and their professional and academic achievements.

Meritorius Achievement Award

Presented annually at the fall meeting, this award is to recognize a researcher (can be a clinician researcher) who has made significant contributions in the field of urological research Accomplishments of note should include Publications, participation on distinguished panels, Advisory roles, overall contributions to the field of urology research. 2023 Winner – Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD

Young Investigator Award

The SBUR Young Investigator Awards are given to SBUR members who are under the age of 45, within 5 years of their first faculty position, and have made significant contributions to Urologic Research. This award is presented annually at the fall meeting. The SBUR Awards Committee reviews the applications and determines the awardees on the basis of their academic accomplishments. The winners receive a monetary award and plaque along with recognition of their accomplishment. 2023 Winners – Bishoy M. Faltas, MBBS, David Labbé, PhD, Alison Xiaoqiao Xie, MS, PhD

Distinguished Service Award

Presented annually at the spring meeting, this award recognizes an SBUR member who has helped the SBUR significantly over time with his/her services and/or influences. The recipient does not necessarily have to be a prominent researcher. 2023 Winner – Haojie Huang, PhD

Travel Award

A primary goal of SBUR is to provide travel grants/stipends to researcher trainees. These grants are in the form of $500 payments to support travel to/from the annual meeting each fall. Award recipients must be SBUR members, have a six (6) month membership history and a recipient is not allowed to receive the award in two consecutive years. View Our Past Winners.


SWIU and SBUR have a common interest in recognizing female scientists with an accomplished background of basic science urological research. This award represents the collaborative efforts of these two societies toward their common goals. Appropriate candidates for this award are members of SBUR who hold an M.D., a Ph.D. or both and who have a distinguished track record of urological research. Candidates do not have to be members of SWIU.

The winner is presented with a plaque & check for $1,000 at the Annual Breakfast Meeting. SWIU contributes $500 and SBUR contributes $500 as well. The winner also receives one free year of membership to SWIU. The winner is expected to present a brief summary (5 minutes) of their accomplishments at the Annual SWIU Breakfast Meeting. The winner is also invited to the Women Leaders in Urology Forum and the Networking Reception. 2023 Winner – Amina Zoubeidi, PhD

Eula and Donald S. Coffey Innovative Research Award

The Eula and Donald S. Coffey Innovative Research Award will be presented to the most innovative abstract at the SBUR Annual Meeting. In 2018, for its inaugural year, the Award includes a check for $1,000 and covers travel expenses.

Background & How to Contribute

For many in the SBUR, Dr. Donald Coffey’s influence has been immense. Dr. Coffey was one of the founders and the second president of the SBUR. He inspired generations of translational scientists and physician-scientists to think, research and solve scientific problems across many disciplines in medicine.

Inspired by generous lead gifts in honor of Dr. Coffey by past Presidents of the SBUR current SBUR leaders have established the Eula and Donald S. Coffey Innovative Research Award to continue his mission and passion for science. The award will be presented to the top rated innovative abstract at the SBUR annual meeting and will encourage more investigators with “out of the box” ideas to share their work at the meeting. Many of us remember having chats with Dr. Coffey at the SBUR poster sessions — science innovation was his passion and the award will encourage more of the best and brightest to come to our annual meeting. The award is in addition to the Society’s Donald S. Coffey Lecture at the annual SBUR spring meeting.

2023 Winner: Shiqin Liu, MD, PhD

In honor of Dr. Coffey and to celebrate his legacy, members are encouraged to contribute generously to the endowment supporting the Eula and Donald S. Coffey Innovative Research Award.

Payment by check can be mailed to the SBUR at the address below. If you an SBUR member and wish to learn more or to make a donation by phone using a credit card, please contact SBUR by sending your inquiry to [email protected]. Donations to the SBUR are tax deductible as the SBUR is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization, Tax ID #36-3607930.

SBUR Minority Scholar Award

The National Institutes of Health reports that the following racial and ethnic groups are underrepresented in biomedical research: Blacks or African Americans, Hispanics or Latinos, American Indians or Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Pacific Islanders.

Therefore, SBUR has instituted the Minority Scholar Award in strong support of these researchers. The Award will be presented to new to mid-level investigators who have made significant contributions to Urologic Research.

2023 Winner: Omar Franco, MD, PhD


Donald S. Coffey Lecture

Members of SBUR who are friends and admirers of Donald S. Coffey established the Donald S. Coffey lectureship in 1991. The intent of the award is to honor outstanding research efforts in all fields of investigation while simultaneously recognizing Dr. Coffey’s contributions to the field of urologic research and his mentorship of many scientists and clinicians who conduct scientific and clinical research in the field of urology. The lectureship provides for a speaker at the annual SBUR Spring Meeting, which occurs coincidental with the Annual Meeting of the AUA. The Coffey Lecturers have been pre-eminent scientists who have lectured upon areas of scientific research outside the field of urology. The lectures should stimulate those in the field of urologic translational research to pursue new ideas and conduct translational research in the area of excellence addressed by the speaker.

2023 Lecturer:
Peter Nelson, MD

Presentation title:
On the Giants’ Shoulders: Identifying Prostate Cancer Vulnerabilities Using New Models and Genome-Scale Tools

Leland W.K. Chung Lecture

Since 2009, the Fall Meeting is enhanced by the named keynote SBUR lectureship that honors Leland W.K. Chung, PhD. Dr. Chung is a leading prostate cancer translational scientist who pioneered the study of tumor-stroma interactions in urologic cancers. Dr. Chung is a founding member and past-president of SBUR and mentored many outstanding scientists and urologic surgeons around the world.

2022 Lecturer:
Elaine Fuchs, PhD

Presentation Title:
Stem Cells: Coping with Stress

Dr. Leland W.K. Chung Mentorship Award

Dr. Leland W.K. Chung was a distinguished scientist who devoted his entire career to urologic cancer research and his work reshaped knowledge of urologic cancer biology and cancer biology. He was a great mentor to hundreds of young scientists who admired his passion and vision. Most importantly, he created a unique environment for basic scientists and clinicians to work as teams to translate basic research to bedside to combat urologic cancers. He was president of SBUR and provided great leadership to SBUR.

2023 Winner:
Michael Freeman, PhD

Presentation Title:
You Only Have to Look Out the Window: Reflections on Mentoring and Being Mentored